Ransomville Speedway

  • 1
Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Witness the best short track racing in the northeast each and every Friday night. Click to see a full list of events.

Cody McPherson Tops Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series Field at Ransomville


Ransomville Speedway

Cody McPherson Tops Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series Field at Ransomville

RANSOMVILLE, NY (May 31, 2024) Round one of the Western Region for the Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series was held at the Ransomville Speedway Friday night, and it was Cody McPherson from St. Catharines, Ontario picking up the feature win. Gary Lindberg from Ridgeway, Ontario won the Krown Undercoating 358 Modified feature. Cole Susice from Ransomville, NY won his first Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks feature of the season, and 19th of his career. Nigel Pendykowski from Chippawa, Ontario won his first career Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature.

The Stirling Lubricants DIRTcar Sportsman hosted round one for the Western Region as part of the Super DIRTcar Series, and it was Cody McPherson and Kevin Wills on the front row, with McPherson in the lead, as Brett Senek taking over second place. Adam Hilton would move into third, ahead of Wills and Cam Tuttle on the opening circuits. Tuttle would take over fourth from Wills on lap four, just as Hilton would move into second after passing Senek. Derek Wagner would hit the turn one wall to bring out the caution on lap eight and was able to rejoin the field for the restart. The red flag would come out on lap 10 as Dillon Adamczak made hard contact after Sheldon Gardner spun on the back straightaway. Both drivers climbed out of their cars under their own power. McPherson would retake command on the restart, with Hilton, Senek, Tuttle, and Adam Leslie racing in the top five. Leslie started 23rd on the grid and on lap 17, would pass Hilton to move into second place. McPherson would lead all 30-laps to score the feature win, his thirteenth of his career at Ransomville and third Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series triumph at the Big R. Round two of the Western Region will take place on Saturday, June 1 at Merrittville Speedway as part of the Ivan Little Memorial. The Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series will return to Ransomville on Tuesday, August 20 for the Mike Bonesky Memorial as part of the Ron Martin Memorial Summer Nationals for the Big Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series.

Chad Brachmann and Gary Lindberg were on the front row for the Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds main event, with Lindberg jumping on the outside to take over the lead, with Erick Rudolph, Brachmann, Brad Rouse, and Noah Walker racing in the top five. James Sweeting spun in turn one to bring out the caution on lap three. Lindberg and Rudolph would lead the field back to the green flag, with Lindberg in the lead. Noah Walker went three wide with Brachmann and Mason to move into fourth place, as Mat Williamson raced his way into sixth place on lap seven. Williamson would continue his way towards the front as he would pass Rouse on lap 15 to move into third place. As Lindberg hit heavy lap traffic, Rudolph would start to reel him in. Lindberg would hold off Rudolph and Williamson to score his second win of the season.

Mike Becker and Cole Susice brought the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks to the green flag, with Susice jumping into the lead with Curt Rung and Matt Hornquist racing in the top three early on. Jeffrey Wynes would take second away from Rung on lap seven, with Rung in third over Matt Hornquist, and Ryan Plante. Susice would drive away from the field to pick up the victory.
Johnny Zimmerman and Jocelyn Just were on the front row for the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature event, with Just taking the lead ahead of Nigel Pendykowski. Pendykowski would take the lead away on lap three. Ken Camidge would take over second prior to the halfway mark and would go after race leader Pendykowski. Jocelyn Just would hit the turn two wall to bring out the caution on lap 13, setting up a green-white-checkered finish. Pendykowski would hold off Camidge to score his first career feature win.

Next Friday night, the “Winged Warriors” of the Empire Super Sprints will be in town for the running of the Ron Lux Memorial. The Empire Super Sprints will be joined by the Stirling Lubricants DIRTcar Sportsman, KiPo Chevrolet Street Stocks, Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks, and the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman. Pit gates will open at 5pm, grandstands open at 6pm, and racing will get underway at 7:15pm.

RACE RESULTS – DIRTcar Sportsman Trail/Austin Wilson Memorial Demo Derby Night
Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds: GARY LINDBERG, Erick Rudolph, Mat Williamson, Chad Brachmann, Ryan Susice, Brad Rouse, Noah Walker, Dalton Slack, Nelson Mason, James Sweeting, Jesse Cotriss, Phil Vigneri III, Kyle Richner, Greg Martin, Steve Lewis Jr, Jessica Kriegisch, Allan Wills
Qualifying Heats: Nelson Mason, Gary Lindberg

Stirling Lubricants DIRTcar Sportsman: CODY MCPHERSON, Adam Leslie, Adam Hilton, Cameron Tuttle, Brett Senek, Dave Conant, Jacob Bansmer, Kevin Wills, Justin McKay, Jordan Moden, Steve Miller, Greenley George, Abby Castile, Mike Kramarz, Dave DiPietro II, DJ Rosinski, Jim Harbison, Tyler Moore, Sheldon Gardner, Dillon Adamczak, Derek Wagner, Jessie Truax
Did Not Start: Colby Adamczak, Curtis Friesen
Qualifying Heats: Cameron Tuttle, Dave DiPietro II, Cody McPherson

Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks: COLE SUSICE, Jeffrey Wynes, Matt Hornquist, Ryan Plante, Curt Rung, Dave Dussault, Ian Paul, Mike Becker, Brian Melcher, Christian Soladay, David Vaillancourt, Sierra Antonucci
Did Not Start: Pete Nigro Sr, Cody Griffin
Qualifying Heats: Jeffrey Wynes, Cole Susice

Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman: NIGEL PENDYKOWSKI, Ken Camidge, Tyler Foster, Kyle Teeter, Nick Tarnowski, Luke Blose, Brooklyn Chaffee, Cameron Rowlands, Jacalyn Nettleton, Jocelyn Just, Johnny Zimmerman
Qualifying Heats: Jocelyn Just, Ken Camidge

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Back to News
Ticket Info

The Modified Tour Inc
Atwal Eye Care
Hy-Tech Concrete
KIPO Automotive Group
Super DIRTCar Series
VP Race Fuels
Sunflowers of Sanborn
DirtCar Series Sportsman
Empire Super Sprints
Kevins Carpet Cleaning