Ransomville Speedway

  • 1
Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Witness the best short track racing in the northeast each and every Friday night. Click to see a full list of events.

Williamson, Mason, Sherwood, Leone, and Panunte All Win at Ransomville


Ransomville Speedway

Williamson, Mason, Sherwood, Leone, and Panunte All Win at Ransomville

RANSOMVILLE, NY (July 28, 2023) It was Halloween in July Night at the Ransomville Speedway Friday night, featuring the popular family autograph session and kids costume parade, presented by Niagara Metals. On track, reigning Krown Undercoating 358 Modified track champion Mat Williamson from St. Catharines, Ontario picked up his fifth win of the season. Nelson Mason from Niagara Falls, Ontario picked up the victory in the Hy-Tech Concrete DIRTcar Sportsman division. Brandon Sherwood from Sanborn, NY won the KiPo Motors Street Stock feature event. “The Notorious One” Chris Leone from Lewiston, NY won the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stock feature. Matteo Panunte from Port Colborne, Ontario won his first career Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature event.

Greg Martin and Scott Kerwin brought the Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds to the green flag for their 30-lap feature with Kerwin showing the way ahead of Martin, Williamson, Brachmann, and Erick Rudolph. Rudolph was able to get around Brachmann and Martin to take over third, as Williamson took over second place. Williamson and Rudolph battled for second place, with Williamson taking it away on lap six. Williamson would take the lead away from Kerwin on lap seven, with Rudolph challenging Kerwin for second place. Gary Lindberg would take over second on lap eight, with Rudolph, Kerwin, and Brachmann racing in the top five. Kerwin would challenge Lindberg for second place, with Lindberg able to hold off Kerwin. Kerwin would go high in turn one just before the races’ halfway mark and would lose several positions but was able to continue racing inside the top six. The leaders had a tough time getting around a lap car on lap 18, as Sheldon Gardner slowed in front of both Lindberg and Rudolph to bring out the caution. Williamson would lead following the restart ahead of Phil Vigneri III, Chad Brachmann, Kerwin, and Pete Bicknell. Once out front, Williamson would drive on to score his fifth win of the season. Brachmann, Kerwin, Bicknell, and Lindberg would complete the top five.

Derek Wagner and Kyle Richner were on the front row for the Hy-Tech Concrete DIRTcar Sportsman feature, with Richner in the lead ahead of Wagner, Jim Harbison, Nelson Mason, and Dave DiPietro. Brett Senek and Justin McKay went three wide with DiPietro to take over fifth place on lap two. Nelson Mason would pass Wagner to take over second place on lap five, as Harbison started to reel in Wagner for third place. Mason wouldn’t waste any time, as by lap seven, was challenging Richner for the lead. By lap nine, Mason would get around Richner and would take over the race lead. The first yellow flag would come out on lap 10, as Larry Vick slowed and came to a stop in turn three. Mason would lead following the restart, as Cody McPherson moved into fourth place. The battle on the track was for second place, between Richner and Jim Harbison for several laps. Tyler Moore spun to bring out the caution on lap 17 to bring out the caution. The restart would see McPherson take over third place, and challenge Richner for second place. Brett Senek, who was running in the top five, brought out the caution on lap 18 after suffering a flat tire. Richner and Mason would battle following the restart, with Harbison, McPherson, and Scott George racing in the top five. Mason would go on to score the feature win.

Ken Camidge and Phil Schepis were on the front row for the KiPo Motors Street Stocks feature event, with Camidge in the lead ahead of Brandon Sherwood, and Simon Bissell. Camidge and Sherwood battled for several laps for the lead, with Sherwood taking the lead on lap six. Sherwood would go on to score the win, with Simon Bissell edging out Ken Camidge at the line for second place.

Jeffrey Wynes and Ian Paul set the pace for the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks feature, with Wynes in the lead. Wynes would take his car to the pits on lap one, giving the lead to Chris Leone. Cole Susice slowed to bring out the caution on lap two after having contact with Dave Dussault in turn one. Ryan Plante would go three wide with Ben Hornquist, and Curtis Rung to battle for second place on lap three and would go after Leone. Ian Paul would enter the top three, after battling with both Rung and Hornquist. Leone and Plante would battle for the lead and the win, as Rung would work his way back to third place. Leone would hold off Plante to score the win.

Dillon Adamczak and Mike Kramarz were on the front row for the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature event, with Adamczak showing the way ahead of Matteo Panunte. Panunte would take the lead away from Adamczak on lap three. Chris Hawkins would take over second on lap four, with Kramarz racing back in third place. Following a lap five restart, Chris Hawkins and Mike Kramarz made contact, with Hawkins spinning on the back straightaway. Panunte and DJ Rosinski were on the front row, with Panunte back in the lead. Panunte was able to pull away from Rosinski to pick up his first Ransomville victory.

Next Friday night will be the Sean Letts Memorial for the Hy-Tech Concrete DIRTcar Sportsman. A full Ransomville racing program will also be presented plus the annual visit by the Vintage Cars. Pit gates will open at 5pm, with grandstands opening at 6pm, and racing will get underway at 7:15pm.

Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds: MAT WILLIAMSON, Chad Brachmann, Scott Kerwin, Pete Bicknell, Gary Lindberg, Jesse Cotriss, Noah Walker, Erick Rudolph, Greg Martin, Rick Richner, Luke Carleton, Steve Lewis Jr, John Smith, Sheldon Gardner, Andrew Smith, Dave Flannigan Jr, Phil Vigneri III
Did Not Start: Allan Wills
Qualifying Heats: Chad Brachmann, Gary Lindberg

Hy-Tech Concrete Sportsman: NELSON MASON, Jim Harbison, Kyle Richner, Cody McPherson, Scott George, Dave DiPietro, Cameron Tuttle, Derek Wagner, Tony Pangrazio, Greenley George, Jessica Kriegisch, Brett Senek, Nathan Peattie, Colby Adamczak, Tyler Moore, Abby Castile, Justin McKay, Curtis Friesen, Larry Vick, Dave Just, Doug Walsh, Greg Mrzywka
Did Not Start: Billy Bleich Jr
Qualifying Heats: Scott George, Justin McKay, Cameron Tuttle

KiPo Motors Street Stocks: BRANDON SHERWOOD, Simon Bissel, Ken Camidge, Phil Schepis, Joey Zimmerman, Ron Richter, Josh Shumate, Jonathan Almekinder, Chris Dziomba
Qualifying Heat: Brandon Sherwood

Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks: CHRIS LEONE, Ryan Plante, Curt Rung, Matt Hornquist, Ben Hornquist, Brian Melcher, Christian Soliday, Dave Smith, Ian Paul, Cody Griffin, Jeffrey Wynes, Dave Dussault, Cole Susice
Did Not Start: CJ Smith, Tyler Foster
Qualifying Heats: Dave Dussault, Chris Leone

Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman: MATTEO PANUNTE, DJ Rosinski, Dillon Adamczak, Mike Kramarz, Graeme Toth, Wayne Swinson, Jocelyn Just, Kyle Teeter, Luke Blose, Chris Hawkins, Jordan Denobriga
Did Not Start: Cameron Rowlands, Aidan Harris, Paul Marshall
Qualifying Heats: Matteo Panunte, Mike Kramarz

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Back to News
Ticket Info

The Modified Tour Inc
Atwal Eye Care
Hy-Tech Concrete
KIPO Automotive Group
Super DIRTCar Series
VP Race Fuels
Sunflowers of Sanborn
DirtCar Series Sportsman
Empire Super Sprints
Kevins Carpet Cleaning