Ransomville Speedway

  • 1
Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Witness the best short track racing in the northeast each and every Friday night. Click to see a full list of events.

Rudolph, Wagner, Bissell, Bleich, and Hornquist Win on Holiday Weekend at Ransomville


Ransomville Speedway

Rudolph, Wagner, Bissell, Bleich, and Hornquist Win on Holiday Weekend at Ransomville

RANSOMVILLE, NY (June 30, 2023) Third-generation driver Erick Rudolph from Ransomville, NY won the Krown Undercoating 358 Modified feature at the Ransomville Speedway on Friday night. Derek Wagner from Middleport, NY won the Hy-Tech Concrete DIRTcar Sportsman feature. Simon Bissell from Lewiston, NY Zach Bleich from Port Robinson, Ontario won the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature event. Matt Hornquist from Eden, NY won the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stock feature event. The racing action was presented by JW Swanson, Firth Jewelers, Sevenson Environmental, Modern Electrical, and Sunset Bar & Grill.

A “pass the helmet” was held at intermission for Axton Susice, and $4,728 was raised for the family. Skylighters of WNY lit up the sky with a tremendous Fireworks show to kick off the long holiday weekend.

Steve Lewis Jr and Greg Martin shared the front row for the Krown Undercoating 358 Modifieds with Martin showing the way ahead of Lewis, Erick Rudolph, Jesse Cotriss, and Mat Williamson. Rudolph would take his car to second on lap three and would go after race leader Greg Martin. Williamson and Cotriss would battle for fourth place and then, would pass Lewis to take over third before lap 10. Martin, Rudolph, Williamson, Lewis, Cotriss, and Pete Bicknell raced in the top six at the race’s halfway mark. Rudolph would close the gap and would reel in Martin with 10 laps remaining. Rudolph would use the slider to take the lead exiting turn two on lap 21. Bicknell would move into fourth after passing both Lewis and Cotriss in the final 10 circuits. Rudolph would drive away from the field to pick up the feature win.

Derek Wagner and Dave DiPietro were on the front row for the Hy-Tech Concrete DIRTcar Sportsman feature event, with the lead duo battling for the lead as well as Cam Tuttle, who raced in third place. The caution lights would come on as Robert Henning spun on the back straightaway. Wagner would take off in the lead following the early race restart. Jessica Kriegisch and Cam Tuttle battled for third place, with Kriegisch taking over the position on lap eight. Following a lap 11 caution, Wagner would continue to lead ahead of DiPietro, Nelson Mason, Tuttle, and Kriegisch. Wagner would lead following a lap 20 caution and would go on to score the feature win. Nelson Mason, who crossed the line in second place, failed post-race inspection for not meeting the weight requirement post-race.

Simon Bissell and John Zimmerman brought the KiPo Motors Street Stocks to the green flag, with Zimmerman and Bissell battling for the lead with Ken Camidge racing in third place early. John Zimmerman would continue to lead throughout most of the feature event. Bissell and Zimmerman would battle for the lead, with Bissell reclaiming the lead on lap 12. Ken Camidge would challenge Zimmerman for second, as Bissell showed the way. Bissell would go on to score the win.

Dillon Adamczak and Kyle Teeter were on the front row for the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman main event, with Zach Bleich showing the way. DJ Rosinski hit the turn one wall to bring out the race’s first caution on lap one. On the restart, Bleich would continue to show the way ahead of Dan McKay. Bleich and McKay would pull away from the field, as Luke Blose would take over third place from Aidan Harris. Harris would challenge Blose in the late going and would take over the third spot with two laps remaining. Aidan Harris would hit the wall, but able to keep on going. Bleich would go on to score his first career open-wheeled victory.

Cody Griffin and Tyler Foster set the pace in the 15-lap feature for the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks, with Griffin jumping into the early-race lead. Curt Rung would take over the second position, with Dussault, Matt Hornquist, and Ian Paul racing in the top five early on. Matt Hornquist would take over second place from Rung, just as Rung hit the turn one wall. Hornquist would take over the lead on lap seven. Hornquist would drive away to pick up the win.

Next Friday night, the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars will return to the Big R! They will be joined by the Hy-Tech Concrete DIRTcar Sportsman, and the KiPo Motors Street Stocks.

RACE RESULTS – JW Swanson, Sevenson Environmental, Firth Jewelers, Modern Electrical, Sunset Bar & Grill Night at the Races
Krown Undercoating Modifieds: ERICK RUDOLPH, Mat Williamson, Greg Martin, Pete Bicknell, Steve Lewis Jr, Jesse Cotriss, Scott Kerwin, Chad Brachmann, Noah Walker, Andrew Smith, Luke Carleton, Jeff Jepson, Allan Wills, John Smith, Sheldon Gardiner, Andy Jankowiak
Qualifying Heats: Jesse Cotriss, Chad Brachmann

Hy-Tech Concrete Sportsman: DEREK WAGNER, Jim Harbison, Kasey Coffey, Dave DiPietro, Cameron Tuttle, Brett Senek, Jessica Kriegisch, Billy Bleich Jr, Kyle Richner, Greenley George, Noah Mamo, Justin McKay, Nathan Peattie, Colby Adamczak, Tyler Moore, Robert Henning, Larry Vick, Jordan Moden, Abby Castile, Nelson Mason
Qualifying Heats: Derek Wagner, Jessica Kriegisch, Brett Senek

KiPo Motors Street Stocks: SIMON BISSELL, Ken Camidge, Josh Pangrazio, Chris Dziomba, Jeff Almekinder, Jonathan Almekinder, Brandon Sherwood, Mike Fellows, Phil Schepis, Dan Schulz, Joey Zimmerman, Randy Zimmerman
Did Not Start: Jeff Sonnenberg, Josh Shumate
Qualifying Heats: Ken Camidge, John Zimmerman

Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks: MATT HORNQUIST, Cole Susice, Ryan Plante, Ian Paul, Brad Whiteside, Cody Griffin, Chris Leone, Dave Dussault, Brian Melcher, Ben Hornquist, Tyler Foster, Nick Galusha, Christian Soliday, Mike Becker, Pete Nigro, Curtis Rung, CJ Smith, Chuck Hughes
Did Not Start: Jeffrey Wynes
Qualifying Heats: Ian Paul, Curtis Rung

Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman: ZACK BLEICH, Daniel McKay, Luke Blose, Cameron Rowlands, Aidan Harris, Jocelyn Just, Wayne Swinson, Dillon Adamczak, Kyle Teeter, Mike Kramarz, DJ Rosinski
Did Not Start: Jim Forester
Qualifying Heats: DJ Rosinski, Dan McKay

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Back to News
Ticket Info

The Modified Tour Inc
Atwal Eye Care
Hy-Tech Concrete
KIPO Automotive Group
Super DIRTCar Series
VP Race Fuels
Sunflowers of Sanborn
DirtCar Series Sportsman
Empire Super Sprints
Kevins Carpet Cleaning