Ransomville Speedway

  • 1
Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Witness the best short track racing in the northeast each and every Friday night. Click to see a full list of events.

Williamson, Kerwin, Pangrazio, Leone, and Adamczak Claim Opening Night Wins


Ransomville Speedway

Williamson, Kerwin, Pangrazio, Leone, and Adamczak Claim Opening Night Wins

RANSOMVILLE, NY (May 6, 2022) The gates swung open to start the 64th season of racing at Ransomville Speedway Friday night as VP Small Engine Fuels presented the racing program. 2021 Krown Undercoating Modified champion Mat Williamson from St. Catharines, Ontario won the 358 Modified feature event. Scott Kerwin from Newfane, NY won the Investor’s Service Sportsman feature. Josh Pangrazio from Oakfield, NY picked up the win in the KiPo Motors Street Stocks feature. Chris Leone from Niagara Falls, NY held on to win the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stock feature. Colby Adamczak from Akron, NY won the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature.

Ryan Susice and Gary Lindberg set the front row for the Krown Undercoating Modified feature with the lead duo pulling away from Chad Brachmann, James Sweeting, Erick Rudolph, and Mat Williamson. Robbie Johnston slowed on the front straightaway to bring out the race's first caution on lap six. The restart would see Williamson take off and move from 6th to fourth after passing Rudolph and Brachmann. Williamson would then pass Sweeting to move into third place. On a lap 17 restart, contact was made with the front row, resulting in Susice hitting the front stretch wall. Lindberg was sent to the rear of the field due to the contact with Susice. Then under the red flag, Lindberg drove and stopped his car at the flag stand and as he drove under red flag conditions, he was told over the one-way radio to take his car to the pits for the duration of the event. Susice was able to rejoin the field after making a pit visit. As a result, the 2021 track champions Mat Williamson and Erick Rudolph would lead the field back to the green flag. Over the remaining 13 laps, Williamson and Rudolph would pull away from the field and it would be Williamson collecting the win over Rudolph. Chad Brachmann, James Sweeting, and Mike Bowman would complete the top five.

Scott Kerwin and Brett Senek brought the Investor’s Service Sportsman to the green flag with Kerwin getting the lead over Senek, Cam Tuttle, Dylan Duhow, and Derek Wagner. Kerwin would start to pull away from the field and had over a 1.5-second advantage before the race’s first caution on lap eight as Jordan Moden suffered a flat right rear tire. Kerwin would jump back in the lead on the restart with Senek and Tuttle pulling away from Wagner, and James Friesen. Kerwin would pull away from the field to pick up the win.

Dan Schulz and Randy Zimmerman set the pace in the KiPo Motors Street Stock feature with Schulz showing the way with Josh Pangrazio quickly taking over second and beginning to reel in the race leader Schulz. Joey Zimmerman spun on lap three to bring out the caution with Simon Bissell also getting collected. The restart would see Pangrazio pull the slider to take over the lead with Pete Stefanski battling with Schulz for second. The lead duo would battle for several laps, with Schulz regaining the lead and then Pangrazio would regain the top spot. A late-race caution would bunch the field up, with Pangrazio being able to pull away to pick up the win.

Based on their qualifying results, Curtis Rung and Chris Leone were on the front row for the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stock feature with Leone in the lead ahead of Cole Susice. Off a lap three restart, Leone and Susice would pull away from the field, including a battle between Dave Dussault and Brad Whiteside. Whiteside would take second from Susice and then go after Leone for the lead. Susice would pull into the pits on lap nine, surrendering the third position. Leone and Whiteside would pull away from the field, battling for the lead and the win. Leone would hold off Whiteside to score the win.

Greenley George and Noah Mamo shared the front row for the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature, and it was Mamo showing the way. Colby Adamczak would take the lead away from Mamo off a lap six restart. Adamczak would go on to collect the victory to start the 2022 season.

Next Friday, Mark Cerrone Inc. will present a full card of racing featuring the Krown Undercoating Modifieds, Investor’s Service Sportsman, KiPo Motors Street Stocks, Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks, and Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman. Pit gates will open at 5:00 pm with grandstands opening at 6:00 pm and racing will begin at 7:15 pm.

Krown Undercoating Modifieds: MAT WILLIAMSON, Erick Rudolph, Chad Brachmann, James Sweeting, Mike Bowman, Pete Bicknell, Steve Lewis Jr, Glenn Styres, Andrew Smith, Jonathan Reid, Jesse Cotriss, Garrett Krummert, Ryan Susice, Rick Richner, Gary Lindberg, Robbie Johnston, Greg Martin
Did Not Start: Zack Sam
Qualifying Heats: Chad Brachmann, James Sweeting

Investor’s Service Sportsman: SCOTT KERWIN, Brett Senek, Cameron Tuttle, Derek Wagner, James Friesen, Dylan Duhow, Justin McKay, AJ Custodi, Jessica Kriegisch, Brett Martin, Jordan Moden, Dave DiPietro, Orval Harris, Brian Harris, Jacob Bansmer
Qualifying Heats: Cameron Tuttle, Dylan Duhow

KiPo Motors Street Stocks: JOSH PANGRAZIO, Dan Schulz, Pete Stefanski, Jesse Qutermous, Simon Bissell, Tommy Bowen, Gary Camidge, Randy Zimmerman, Ron Richter, Joey Zimmerman, Zach Walsh
Did Not Start: Brandon Sherwood, Ken Camidge
Qualifying Heats: Josh Pangrazio, Jesse Qutermous

Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks: CHRIS LEONE, Brad Whiteside, Ryan Plante, Dave Dussault, Jeffrey Wynes, Nevin Hazel, Cody Griffin, Travis Hayes, Pete Nigro, Curtis Rung, Brandon Tierney, Cole Susice, Ian Paul, Jake Soles, Anthony Haag, Mike Becker
Qualifying Heats: Curtis Rung, Chris Leone

Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman: COLBY ADAMCZAK, Brandon Close, Greenley George, Noah Mamo, Tyler Moore, Cameron Rowlands, Dillon Adamczak, Aidan Harris
Did Not Start: Luke Blose, Abby Castile, Robert Henning
Qualifying Heat: Colby Adamczak

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Back to News
Ticket Info

The Modified Tour Inc
Atwal Eye Care
Hy-Tech Concrete
KIPO Automotive Group
Super DIRTCar Series
VP Race Fuels
Sunflowers of Sanborn
DirtCar Series Sportsman
Empire Super Sprints
Kevins Carpet Cleaning