Ransomville Speedway

  • 1
Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Wheel To Wheel Action Every Friday Night!

Witness the best short track racing in the northeast each and every Friday night. Click to see a full list of events.

Rudolph and Williamson Named Ransomville Modified Co-Champions; Senek and Israel Clinch Titles


Ransomville Speedway

Rudolph and Williamson Named Ransomville Modified Co-Champions; Senek and Israel Clinch Titles

Jonathan Reid, Scott Kerwin, Jaren Israel, Matt Hornquist, and Brandon Close Score Feature Wins Friday at the "Big R"

RANSOMVILLE, NY (September 3, 2021) For the first time since 1996, the Krown Undercoating Modifieds will have co-champions at the Ransomville Speedway as third-generation driver Erick Rudolph from Ransomville, NY and 2019 Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Modified Champion Mat Williamson from St. Catharines, Ontario finished the season tied in points. Jonathan Reid from Lockport, NY won his first career Krown Undercoating 358 Modified feature, in a race that went green to checkered Friday night. Brett Senek from Ransomville, NY clinched his third consecutive Investor’s Service Sportsman track title while Newfane’s Scott Kerwin won his sixth feature of the season. “Showtime” Jaren Israel won his tenth KiPo Chevrolet Street Stocks feature of the season and would clinch the 2021 championship, for his first career track title. Matt Hornquist from Eden, NY Brandon Close from Lockport, NY won his first Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature of the season.

Greg Martin and Jonathan Reid were on the front row for the 30-lap feature for the Krown Undercoating Modifieds with Martin showing the way. Mat Williamson wasted no time to take over fourth place. Chad Brachmann would battle and take over the fourth spot, with Rudolph battling as well for a position inside the top five. As Martin continued to lead, Ryan Susice, Mat Williamson, Erick Rudolph, and Chad Brachmann battled for positions three through six on the track for several laps. Brachmann would use the outside of the track to pass both Rudolph and Williamson and would challenge Susice around lap ten for third place. Meanwhile, Jonathan Reid would close in on Martin and would take over the lead on lap 11, with Susice, Brachmann, Williamson, and Rudolph racing in the top five.

With Reid starting to open up his advantage over the rest of the field, Chad Brachmann would take over second on lap 22, with Williamson and Rudolph trading the third position several times over the last half of the race. Reid would go on to score his first career Modified victory over Brachmann. Rudolph, Williamson, and Susice would complete the top five. With Rudolph finishing in third place and Williamson in fourth, the duo would tie in points and would be declared co-champions.

Brett Senek and Scott Kerwin were on the front row for the Investor’s Service Sportsman feature event with Senek showing the way over Kerwin, AJ Custodi, Dave DiPietro, and Cameron Tuttle early on. Kerwin and Senek pulled away from the field. Tuttle would move into third place on lap five. Jessica Kriegisch and Derrick Borkenhagen got together and spun to bring out the caution on lap six. On the restart, Senek would continue to lead over Kerwin, Custodi, Smith, and Tuttle. Kerwin would look to the outside of Senek and would take over the lead on lap 10. Derek Wagner would enter the top five for the first time on the night at the races’ halfway mark. Andrew Smith would take over third with ten laps remaining, with Wagner battling with Custodi for fourth place. Kerwin would hold off Senek to score his sixth feature win of the season. Senek would clinch his third consecutive divisional title.

Anthony Guthrie and Jaren Israel led the KiPo Chevrolet Street Stocks to the green flag for their feature event with Israel taking the lead. Brian Monahan Jr raced his way into the top five early on and was battling with Roger Israel and James Loveland for much of the feature distance. Israel was on cruise control all night, leading flag-to-flag to pick up his tenth win of the season. Guthrie would finish in second and be followed to the line by Pat Dell, Roger Israel, and James Loveland. The win for Israel would be his 60th career win in the Street Stock division and would earn him his first track championship.
Matt Hornquist took the lead early in the feature event for the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks. Hornquist would lead off the lap one restart, with Chris Miller, Curtis Rung, Nick Tarnowski, and Dave Dussault racing in the top five. Nick Tarnowski would pass Miller to take over second on lap three, with Hornquist upfront. Hornquist would pull away from the field to score the victory, his first of the season.

Brandon Close and Kenny Washburn were on the front row for the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature event with Close taking the lead from his pole position. Kenny Washburn raced in second and challenged Close for the entire distance. Close would go on to score the feature win for his first of the season.

Dylan Haniszewski was declared the winner in the Triple T Towing Demolition Derby, earning $1,000 for his efforts. Don Roesch was credited with second place, earning $500, and Austin Susice was credited with a third-place finish, paying $250 and Susice also earned the Heavy Hitter Award, paying $500.

Ransomville returns to action on Friday, September 10th as SANY New York presents the visit by the PA Outlaw 358 Modifieds, plus the first Sportsman/Novice shootout and the Mini Stocks. Highlighting the night will be a $750 to win event for the Street Stocks. Rules for this race have been opened to allow the Street Stock division from Genesee, Freedom, Land of Legends, Outlaw, and Woodhull to come and compete. The 30-lap feature will be in memory of Matteo Hope, who passed away unexpectedly. The entire racing program will be streamed live on www.dirttrackdigest.tv with pit gates opening at 5:00 pm, grandstands at 6:00 pm, and racing will get underway at 7:15 pm.

Krown Undercoating Modifieds: JONATHAN REID, Chad Brachmann, Erick Rudolph, Mat Williamson, Ryan Susice, Greg Martin, Rick Richner, James Sweeting, Allan Wills, Andrew Smith, Jeff Jepson, Jesse Cotriss, Steve Lewis Jr, Robbie Johnston, John Smith
Qualifying Heats: Ryan Susice, Erick Rudolph
2021 Track Co-Champions: Erick Rudolph & Mat Williamson

Investors Service Sportsman: SCOTT KERWIN, Brett Senek, Andrew Smith, Derek Wagner, Noah Walker, AJ Custodi, Zach George, Cameron Tuttle, Brett Martin,
Qualifying Heats: Cameron Tuttle, Zach George
2021 Track Champion: Brett Senek

KiPo Chevrolet Street Stocks: JAREN ISRAEL, Anthony Guthrie, Pat Dell, Roger Israel, James Loveland, Chris Dziomba, Dan Korpanty, Randy Zimmerman, Tommy Bowen, Brian Monahan Jr, Mike Kramarz
Did Not Start: Chuck Cala
Qualifying Heats: Pat Dell, Jaren Israel
2021 Track Champion: Jaren Israel

Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks: MATT HORNQUIST, Nick Tarnowski, Chris Miller, Curtis Rung, Jeffrey Wynes, Cole Susice, Dave Dussault, Brian Melcher, Travis Hayes, Mike Becker, Ron Seefeldt, Paul Marshall, Donald Hermanson, Nevin Hazel, Ryan Plante, Anthony Haag, Ian Paul
Qualifying Heats: Matt Hornquist, Chris Miller

Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman: BRANDON CLOSE, Kenny Washburn, Robert Henning, Greenley George, Jim Forster, Abby Castile, Colby Adamczak, Kenny Washburn III, Dillon Adamczak, AJ Busch
Qualifying Heat: Brandon Close

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Back to News
Ticket Info

The Modified Tour Inc
Atwal Eye Care
Hy-Tech Concrete
KIPO Automotive Group
Super DIRTCar Series
VP Race Fuels
Sunflowers of Sanborn
DirtCar Series Sportsman
Empire Super Sprints
Kevins Carpet Cleaning